Databases

An index of articles in periodicals received by the British Museum's Anthropology Library 1957-present.

Covers from 1985 to Present.

Full-text art research covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage with hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing, abstracts and thousands of images. Total titles indexed: 1,600+; Full-text titles: 780+.

This ProQuest full-text journal database reflects the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.

European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.  Provided by the Getty Research Institute.

An online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of academic subjects. Total titles: 172,300+ full-text titles.

The eBook Business Collection encompasses a variety of business topics, such as marketing, finance, supply chain management and entrepreneurship, with additional focus on career growth, personal development, communication and networking.

All subjects, some full text, available online.

Collection of full-text books written between 1476-1671.

ProQuest eBook Central provides authoritative eBooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.

Full-text books by women writers.

Launched in the early 1970s, ABI/INFORM remains the gold standard when it comes to business research databases. ABI/INFORM Collection's massive content set — which includes important full-text journals and much sought-after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports — will help today's researchers resolve tomorrow's problems.

Includes national and international sources on accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate financial management, corporate and individual taxation, and more. Profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms. 1905 - present.

This powerful tool offers content useful for demographic profiles, business site location studies, traffic studies, proposal/grant writing, mapping a geographic area, conducting city or regional comparisons, research and development, and studying industry segments.

The latest insights on entrepreneurship and small business topics for business students and researchers. Content comes from business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies and company profiles. Total titles indexed: 140+; Full-text titles: 120+.

Business and residential reference and research tool providing users with access to demographic data for the entire U.S. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Identify untapped audiences and analyze shifts/needs of a given population.

his database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.

This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Business News (Regional)

Provides coverage from regional business publications for the U.S. and Canada.

Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business. Includes information on accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. State-specific information included.

Online access to the Chronicle of Higher Education is available to all Albion College faculty, staff, and students!  This campus-wide subscription is provided jointly by the Provost’s Office and the Library, and includes access to all Chronicle content from 1989 to the present.

Provides scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Total titles indexed: 3,500+; Full-text titles: 2,000+.

The go-to database for education topics. Many articles in full-text.

Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Includes plot summaries, literary criticism, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, short stories and novels, and author interviews. Total titles indexed: 460+; Full-text titles: 380+.

From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.

Covers both fiction and nonfiction. This resources offers extensive reader's advisory services including read-alike titles, series, and authors as well as professional reviews, reader reviews, articles, lists, genre overviews, discussion guides and more.

Coverage includes classic and contemporary poems as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays.

Offers coverage for students and scholars in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy and affiliated areas of study. Total titles indexed: 2,100+; Full-text titles: 1,000+.

GreenFILE is a free research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources. 

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It provides full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.

Provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.

Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.

PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed contains all information found in MEDLINE as well as additional references not included in the MEDLINE database.

PubMed Central is a free archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles.

Covers U.S. and world history topics and features historical reference books, magazines and thousands of primary source documents. Total titles indexed: 150+; Full-text titles: 145+.

MyHeritage Library Edition is one of the largest, most internationally diverse genealogy databases of its kind. Access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos and other resources in thousands of databases that span the past five centuries.

19th Century UK Periodicals is a database using content from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland,the National Library of Australia, and many other sources, to make available digitised versions of key 19th Century UK Periodicals.

Covers literary, scholarly and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in any aspect of the humanities. Total titles indexed: 3,000+; Full-text: 1,400+.

From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.

Project MUSE provides full-text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Search over 12,800 state-specific legal forms by topic including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes, and more. A majority of the full-text legal reference books provided through NOLO.

Authoritative database for current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. It is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law. Total titles indexed: 2,200+; Full-text titles: 1,100+.

Journals and periodicals that help librarians and researchers keep pace with the latest trends in the field.

Library and Information Science-related articles.

From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.

Theme-based Spanish-language interface designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users. This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries.

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.

Features contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Continuously updated pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, tables/charts/graphs, and more.

Use Google Scholar as a way to search full-text across all of Albion's databases to find scholarly articles on nearly every subject. Check along the right side of the page for access to full-text.

govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

JSTOR has full-text search from scholarly journals in many disciplines, going back to the first volume of each journal it carries.

Content from popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources. Covers a wide range of subjects including business, health, fashion, sports, and personal finance. Total titles indexed: 3,400+; Full-text titles: 2,300+.

The Michigan Electronic Library has databases, a catalog that shows the materials in all participating Michigan libraries, full-text magazines and newspapers, practice tests, a job and career acceleration program, Michigan historical materials, and more!

From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.

Periodicals Archive Online Liberal Arts Collection 2 connects researchers with 29 historically respected journals.

Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 12352 titles!

Alternative Name(s): 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers,

Gale partners with the British Library to create one of the richest collections of primary source material in the world. British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers.

Full text of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. Years of coverage: 1857-1912.

Provides coverage from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. TV, radio transcripts, and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources are also included. Primary full coverage newspapers are The Washington Post and USA Today. Total titles indexed: 1,300+; Full-text titles: 1,300+.

New York Times full-text and full-image from 1851-2014. Digital reproductions of every page from each issues in downloadable PDF.

All CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Covers political topics with a worldwide focus. Designed for students, researchers and government institutions. Total titles indexed: 2,250+; Full-text titles: 650+.

Full-text articles from 44 psychology journals, from 1988-present for most.

Covers a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. For psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. Total titles indexed: 500+; Full-text titles: 490+.

This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.  Provided by the Getty Research Institute.

Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.

Gale Virtual Reference Library offers an online collection of premier reference eBooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Etymological dictionary of words in English. Provides information on word history, usage, and pronunciation.

Jewish Studies Source contains over 400 full-text titles. Sources comprising the collection include full-text for leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews. This database includes 123 full-text journals & magazines, including 66 that are unavailable from Academic Search™ . Jewish Studies Source also offers extensive full-text backfiles. In addition, Jewish Studies Source contains the entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency database from 1922 to present.

Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.  Coverage: 1986 - current

Searches all the journals published by the American Chemical Society; all articles are full-text.

Full-text and indexed content covering the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering. Total titles indexed: 3,600+; Full-text titles: 1,200+.

Open-access archive for millions of scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Full-text articles from high-impact bioscience research journals.

American Physical Society journals; Physical Review Online Archive.

Provides journal articles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.

SciFinder-n is produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service and is the most comprehensive database for searching the chemical literature. It is searchable by topic, author, substance name or CAS Registry Number.

New users must register first using this link:
http://albion.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=CB7CFE91X86F3503FX166E169E5C604B8503

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. 

From Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries to A-list performances spanning the arts, Films on Demand provides every academic department on campus with the most essential streaming video titles for their field of study. Currently, more than 26,000 titles are available.

Kanopy provides access to one of the largest collections of streaming films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable.

A collection of streaming music spanning many genres and world areas.

Offers over 700 courses, practice tests, tutorials, eBooks and flashcards. Practice tests offered include ACT, SAT, PSAT and TOEFL as well as trade certification, civil service, math/reading tests and citizenship.

Specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.

Digital Theatre+ is the world’s leading educational platform for the performing arts and provides 3 million students in over 1,700 schools, colleges and universities across 65 countries with unlimited access to over 900 full-length productions and educational resources.

Full-text access to information on women and women’s issues internationally.